Home ]

Lackawanna wins El Toro Bowl; Monroe falls

YUMA, Arizona - Dec. 1 - History was made in the El Toro Bowl as No. 6 Lackawanna recorded a 17-10 win over No. 19 Arizona Western. The victory allowed the Falcons to finish 11-0 for the first time in program history.

Lackawanna quarterback Shane McLaughlin and Javon Turner gave the Falcons a 14-0 lead with a 67-yard touchdown pass and catch. On the quarter's final play, Isaiah Howard kicked a 32-yard field goal for a 17-3 lead. The Falcons opened the scoring when McLaughlin and Nasir Hooker combined on a 26-yard score.

Turner, who had 10 touchdown receptions this season, was named Lackawanna's offensive player of the game while JaQuan Brisker, who was the NEFC Defensive Player of the Year Award winner, was named its defensive player of the game. Brisker had seven solo tackles, including a quarterback sack. Andre Blackett added eight solo stops and an interception. Lackawanna limited Arizona Western to 61 passing yards and recorded two interceptions.

Iowa Central 34, Monroe 20

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa - Dec. 2 - No. 16 Iowa Central used an interception return to open a 14-0 first-quarter lead and never looked back as it defeated No. 12 Monroe, 34-20, in The Graphic Edge Bowl.

Monroe quarterback Jalen Brown threw for 288 yards and two second-half touchdowns to lead the Mustangs' comeback. Tyler Bailey caught four passes for 118 yards and a touchdown.

Brown and Bailey connected on an 83-yard touchdown to bring the Mustangs within 14 at 34-20, but their onside kick recovery attempt was unsuccessful and the Tritons ran out the clock.

Grant Melton led the Mustangs on defense, recording six tackles and two pass breakups.

Justin Blake led Iowa Central with 87 rushing yards a score. He also completed nine passes for 144 yards and a touchdown. Blake Dever also threw for 178 yards a touchdown.

The bowl game was the first-ever for Monroe, which finishes the season 7-2.